Welcome to NeoOffice Forums
NeoOffice
 
Official online support site for NeoOffice

Trinity
· Home
· Private Messages
· Your Account


RSS Feeds
· NeoOffice Releases
· Forum Posts
· Beta Releases
· Headlines


Twitter Feeds
· @NeoOffice


Download NeoOffice
· Get NeoOffice
· Get the Latest Patch
· Language Packs
· User Guide
· User Guide Volume 2


Other Websites
· NeoOffice.org
· NeoWiki


Languages
Select Interface Language:



  
trinity.neooffice.org :: View topic - Difficulty Selecting Fontworks Objects for Editing
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 

Difficulty Selecting Fontworks Objects for Editing
Users who have purchased direct support within the last year can post

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    trinity.neooffice.org Forum Index -> NeoOffice Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lorinda
Captain Mifune


Joined: Jun 20, 2006
Posts: 2044
Location: Midwest, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:31 pm    Post subject: Difficulty Selecting Fontworks Objects for Editing Reply with quote

I am having extreme difficulty selecting Fontworks objects in order to resize or edit them. To reproduce:

In a text document, go to View>Toolbars>Fontwork

Click the left-most icon on the Fontwork Toolbar

Select a Fontwork shape/pattern and click "OK"

When the Fontwork object appears, click elsewhere in the document

Now try to re-select the Fontwork object by clicking on it; 9 times out of 10 (maybe even 99 times out a 100) this does not work.

I've managed to select the object a couple of times tonight, but I can't figure out exactly how.

I've checked OpenOffice on both my Mac and a Windows machine at work, and selecting the Fontwork object is easy as pie in both of them. I don't have LibreOffice installed to check it.

NeoOffice 3.3. patch 2; Mac OS 10.8.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11365
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can reproduce this "unselectability of the fontwork object" in both NeoOffice 3.3 and 3.2.1 so I will investigate if this is caused by our code or if it is an OpenOffice.org 3.1.1 (the version that NeoOffice is base on) behavior.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11365
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To select fontwork objects in NeoOffice, Command-click on the fonts in the fontwork object.

I found that this is the normal behavior in OpenOffice.org 3.1.1 and earlier versions and Oracle's OpenOffice.org engineers eventually changed the behavior in OpenOffice.org 3.3.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11365
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found out why you have to Command-click to select fontwork objects in NeoOffice: the OpenOffice.org 3.1.1 code initially inserts fontwork objects as background objects.

So, you can make a fontwork object clickable by moving it to the foreground using the following steps:

1. Select the fontwork object by Command-clicking within one of the fontwork characters (clicks between characters will fall through the object).

2. Right-click or control-click in the selected fontwork object and, in the popup menu that appears, select the Arrange :: To Foreground menu item.

Are you able to select a fontwork object with a regular mouse click after doing the above steps? Note that you still have to click within one of the fontwork object's characters.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lorinda
Captain Mifune


Joined: Jun 20, 2006
Posts: 2044
Location: Midwest, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Patrick!

Command-clicking works to select it.

And Arrange>To Foreground makes it "Plain" clickable.

Lorinda
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    trinity.neooffice.org Forum Index -> NeoOffice Support All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds