Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - New User Needs Help with Merge
New User Needs Help with Merge

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Charles218
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 12:11 pm    Post subject: New User Needs Help with Merge

Hello,

I am new to NeoOffice having just downloaded and starting playing with it yesterday. One of my goals is to create print merge documents. I have done this for years with Word 5.something and Filemaker, and now want to move all of my apps out of Classic. Will NeoOffice allow me to merge data into a letter from a Filemaker file? I need more then just names and addresses, more like putting specific data in several places throughout the document. Is there a way to have placeholders that then read the data from the Filemaker document? I have tried using the Mail Merge Wizard but this seems to be geared towards only merging name and address data.

Thanks!
Charles
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 4:20 pm    Post subject:

Speaking generally, the answer to your question is yes; I've used the merge feature once to create nametags ("custom" fields) based on an existing datasource I had. It's been quite some time, however, so I don't remember the exact steps.

What I'm not sure of is if Neo will talk directly to a FileMaker db....

Hopefully there are others here who have more recent experience and can provide more useful answers Smile

And welcome!

Smokey

Blue Pill

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 5:04 pm    Post subject:

Smokey,

Thanks for your response. Filemaker can export the data in several many formats, so it is my hope that NeoOffice can read at least one of them. Does anyone know which formats it can read?

Also, I forgot to mention that I am using version 2.0 Alpha 3 Patch 0.

Charles
doctype
Oracle

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 5:49 pm    Post subject:

sardisson wrote: