Welcome to NeoOffice Forums
NeoOffice
 
Official online support site for NeoOffice

Trinity
· Home
· Private Messages
· Your Account


RSS Feeds
· NeoOffice Releases
· Forum Posts
· Beta Releases
· Headlines


Twitter Feeds
· @NeoOffice


Download NeoOffice
· Get NeoOffice
· Get the Latest Patch
· Language Packs
· User Guide
· User Guide Volume 2


Other Websites
· NeoOffice.org
· NeoWiki


Languages
Select Interface Language:



  
trinity.neooffice.org :: View topic - switching windows
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 

switching windows
Users who have purchased direct support within the last year can post
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    trinity.neooffice.org Forum Index -> NeoOffice Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Maybe you are not running in 64-bit mode (that requires extra manual steps to do on most Mac machines) but I cannot reproduce this behavior on my Mac OS X 10.6.2 machine. I open 3 Writer windows and press Command-~ to cycle through the windows without a problem.

Can you verify that you are not running NeoOffice 3.0.2 Early Access? If you select the Help :: About NeoOffice, what does it display for the version and patch?

If it says "NeoOffice 3.0.2 Patch 0", the next thing to try installing the latest NeoOffice 3.0.2 patch. We released Patch 1 this morning and you can download it from the NeoOffice patch download page.

If the problem still occurs with NeoOffice 3.0.2 Patch 1, then the next think to try is uninstalling the LanguageTool extension. I understand that you are using the LanguageTool 1.0.0 extension and in this post I found that the LanguageTool extension creates its own Java thread and, potentially, their Java code is interfering with NeoOffice's code that handles window focus order.
With patch 1 and without LanguageTool still the same result: after opening 3 writer docs it only cycles through the top two. Note that I'm not using command-~ to cycle as my locale dictates another shortcut combination: command-crtl-<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11362
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gust wrote:
With patch 1 and without LanguageTool still the same result: after opening 3 writer docs it only cycles through the top two. Note that I'm not using command-~ to cycle as my locale dictates another shortcut combination: command-crtl-<


Are you using Mac OS X Spaces? If so, does this problem occur if you turn off spaces and all windows are in one screen?

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Are you using Mac OS X Spaces?
No.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11362
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Later today I will reboot into Snow Leopard and set the key shortcut to Command-Control-< and see if I can reproduce this. I am doing some debugging in Tiger right now but I will post what I find when I am able to boot into Snow Leopard.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
OK. Later today I will reboot into Snow Leopard and set the key shortcut to Command-Control-< and see if I can reproduce this. I am doing some debugging in Tiger right now but I will post what I find when I am able to boot into Snow Leopard.
Ok, take your time for it. It's definitely not a showstopper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Later today I will reboot into Snow Leopard and set the key shortcut to Command-Control-< and see if I can reproduce this.
Found a trigger. When the cursor is in a table, cycling is limited to the top-2 windows. Otherwise, it cycles through all open windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11362
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gust wrote:
pluby wrote:
Later today I will reboot into Snow Leopard and set the key shortcut to Command-Control-< and see if I can reproduce this.
Found a trigger. When the cursor is in a table, cycling is limited to the top-2 windows. Otherwise, it cycles through all open windows.


Thank you for finding that. That is definitely the trigger and I can now reproduce this bug on Snow Leopard if one of the windows is a Writer document with the cursor in a table.

I have reopend bug 3557 to track this bug and I will post a test patch for you to try when I have a fix for this bug.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11362
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that I have fixed this bug. What I found was that my original fix was not getting used because my code was looking for the list of Mac OS X key shortcuts that are set in the System Preferences application in the wrong place.

On Snow Leopard, the key shortcuts are stored in a different preferences file than on Tiger so now I check the Snow Leopard location first and only if I do not find the key shortcuts there, I look in the old preferences file.

Can you install the following test patch and tell us if the fix works for you?:

Intel:
http://joe.neooffice.org/test/NeoOffice-3.0.2-Patch-1-Test-1-Intel.dmg

PowerPC:
http://joe.neooffice.org/test/NeoOffice-3.0.2-Patch-1-Test-1-PowerPC.dmg

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11362
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI. I have included the fix in NeoOffice 3.0.2 Patch 2.

The patch can be downloaded from the NeoOffice patch download page.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
FYI. I have included the fix in NeoOffice 3.0.2 Patch 2.
Thanks. I didn't have the chance to test it, but I will report on it's functionality if necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
FYI. I have included the fix in NeoOffice 3.0.2 Patch 2.
The issue seems to have regressed in some way. Not sure if it is the same issue, I didn't check it out in great detail but I noticed window cycling anomalies again (using 3.0.2 patch 2). If you cannot reproduce it, I will have a closer look to it happens again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11362
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gust wrote:
The issue seems to have regressed in some way. Not sure if it is the same issue, I didn't check it out in great detail but I noticed window cycling anomalies again (using 3.0.2 patch 2). If you cannot reproduce it, I will have a closer look to it happens again.


Can you describe what anomalies? I don't use Snow Leopard very frequently as I must do all NeoOffice development on Mac OS X 10.4 so I am unlikely to bump into the behavior that you see by chance.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Can you describe what anomalies? I don't use Snow Leopard very frequently as I must do all NeoOffice development on Mac OS X 10.4 so I am unlikely to bump into the behavior that you see by chance.
I've done some preliminary testing. It seems to be the table issue again: if the cursor is in a table, Neo switches between the top-2 windows only. Not sure if it regressed or rather hasn't been fixed for my config (with an Azerty keyboard layout), I haven't been testing thoroughly the test patch you provided.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11362
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cannot reproduce this with either an English or German keyboard.

I created three new Writer documents and inserted a table in each one. I tried various combinations of having the cursor in none, some, or all of the tables but in all cases, pressing Command-` rotated through all of the document windows. I also tried having the Styles & Formatting floating window open and closed but that had no effect.

Is there something different in your documents from my documents?

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gust
Councilperson


Joined: Oct 09, 2007
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
I cannot reproduce this with either an English or German keyboard.

I created three new Writer documents and inserted a table in each one. I tried various combinations of having the cursor in none, some, or all of the tables but in all cases, pressing Command-` rotated through all of the document windows. I also tried having the Styles & Formatting floating window open and closed but that had no effect.

Is there something different in your documents from my documents?
The floating window seems to be a trigger here: if there are no floating windows, switching is normal. With floating windows, cycling is limited to the top-2. The cursor is causing the irritating floating window to appear when in a table. But without tables the same behaviour can be reproduced with the Styles & Formatting float.

Maybe it's an os x bug? On my Azerty keyboard, the shortcut used for switching is command+control+>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    trinity.neooffice.org Forum Index -> NeoOffice Support All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds