Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Arabic letters not connecting
Arabic letters not connecting

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mishmish
Red Pill

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:39 pm    Post subject: Arabic letters not connecting

Greetings! It seems as though my Arabic letters have decided to stop connecting to one another-- problem is, it seems very haphazard. Sometimes they connect, sometimes they don't-- sometimes the non-connection is egregious, sometimes it isn't.

I have attached a file with examples highlighted. I am a teacher, so I have to be precise in my typing-- can anyone help?

I am on a MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz 4GB Intel Core 2 Duo, Mac OSX 10.6.4, running NeoOffice 3.1.1. Patch 1.
pluby
The Architect
The Architect

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:55 pm    Post subject:

What I think is happening is that the NeoOffice code or its underlying OpenOffice.org code are widening the space allocated for some of the Arabic characters. Since Arabic characters need to be drawn right next to each other to make them appear "connected", a widening of space allocated to a character will leave a gap after the character.

I will investigate this further and see I can fix this problem. When I have a fix (hopefully in the next few days), I will post a test patch with the fix for you try.

Patrick
mishmish
Red Pill

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:59 pm    Post subject:

Thanks so much for looking into this. My fingers are crossed!
pluby
The Architect
The Architect

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:47 pm    Post subject:

I have some more information. The problem is occurring only with the Geeza Pro font on Mac OS X 10.6.x Snow Leopard. This problem does not occur with other Arabic fonts or with the Geeza Pro font on Mac OS X 10.4.11.