Welcome to NeoOffice Forums
NeoOffice
 
Official online support site for NeoOffice

Trinity
· Home
· Private Messages
· Your Account


RSS Feeds
· NeoOffice Releases
· Forum Posts
· Beta Releases
· Headlines


Twitter Feeds
· @NeoOffice


Download NeoOffice
· Get NeoOffice
· Get the Latest Patch
· Language Packs
· User Guide
· User Guide Volume 2


Other Websites
· NeoOffice.org
· NeoWiki


Languages
Select Interface Language:



  
trinity.neooffice.org :: View topic - Update screen shows e-mail address black on black
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 

Update screen shows e-mail address black on black
Users who have purchased direct support within the last year can post
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    trinity.neooffice.org Forum Index -> NeoOffice Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
benst
Captain


Joined: May 25, 2004
Posts: 72
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 3:48 am    Post subject: Update screen shows e-mail address black on black Reply with quote

Not a big deal, but when I want to d/l patch 5 via the built-in updater (in p4), the e-mail address and security code fields have a black foreground and background. Makes typing kinda difficult. Smile See attached image.

Kind regards,
Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:29 am    Post subject: Re: Update screen shows e-mail address black on black Reply with quote

benst wrote:
Not a big deal, but when I want to d/l patch 5 via the built-in updater (in p4), the e-mail address and security code fields have a black foreground and background. Makes typing kinda difficult. Smile See attached image.


Can you open Safari, go to this page, and tell us if you see the same problem? Also, can you tell us which version of Mac OS X you are running?

I ask this because the built-in updater uses embedded Safari to load the download web page that you see and so I need to try and figure out why embedded Safari is setting text field backgrounds to black.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benst
Captain


Joined: May 25, 2004
Posts: 72
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:39 am    Post subject: Re: Update screen shows e-mail address black on black Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Can you open Safari, go to this page, and tell us if you see the same problem?

No, that page and the following (with the login) look fine.

Quote:
Also, can you tell us which version of Mac OS X you are running?

I'm running 10.7.4 11e53. (Seed testing here.) I saw this problem both on my laptop and on my iMac, both running the same seed. Is there perhaps a difference in proxy usage? I'm using privoxy for Safari.

Kind regards,
Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:43 am    Post subject: Re: Update screen shows e-mail address black on black Reply with quote

benst wrote:
I'm running 10.7.4 11e53. (Seed testing here.) I saw this problem both on my laptop and on my iMac, both running the same seed. Is there perhaps a difference in proxy usage? I'm using privoxy for Safari.


I have changed the CSS on our website to explicitly request web browsers to render text fields with a white background.

Do you see white text fields now? If not, then I suspect that privoxy or something else is changing the HTML and CSS that is retrieved from our website.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benst
Captain


Joined: May 25, 2004
Posts: 72
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, how to test? I'm already running p5 now. Can I reinstall p4?

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just need to replace one NeoOffice file using the following instructions:

1. Download the following "versionrc" file to your Desktop by pasting the following command in a Terminal window and pressing the Return key. This file will be used to fool NeoOffice to act as if you have not installed the latest official patch:

Code:
cd ~/Desktop ; curl -O http://sally.neooffice.org/test/versionrc


2. In the Finder, right-click or Control-click on the NeoOffice application and in the popup menu that appears, select the "Show Package Contents". Then, navigation into NeoOffice's "Contents/MacOS" subfolder. Drag the "versionrc" file that you downloaded into step 2 into this subfolder. You will be prompted to replace the file and then to authenticate that you are a Mac OS X administrator.

3. If step 3 succeeds, select NeoOffice's Help :: Check for Updates menu. the dialog that appears should say that NeoOffice 3.2.1 Patch 4 is available. Press the Download button and you should see the patch download page running in a floating window similar to the NeoOffice Mobile floating window and the patch should be automatically downloaded to your Downloads folder.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benst
Captain


Joined: May 25, 2004
Posts: 72
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Safari the d/l window looks still fine.

I successfully copied versionrc and got the download window from NeoOffice. It was still black on black. I then quit NeoOffice, disabled privoxy, and retried. Still black on black. I also went into Safari and cleared the cache, but that didn't help either.

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

benst wrote:
I successfully copied versionrc and got the download window from NeoOffice. It was still black on black. I then quit NeoOffice, disabled privoxy, and retried. Still black on black. I also went into Safari and cleared the cache, but that didn't help either.


Try clearing NeoOffice's embedded Safari cache by quitting NeoOffice and then deleting the ~/Library/Caches/soffice.bin folder.

If that doesn't change anything, quit NeoOffice and delete the ~/Library/Preferences/org.neooffice.NeoOffice.plist file.

Do any of the above steps help?

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benst
Captain


Joined: May 25, 2004
Posts: 72
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Try clearing NeoOffice's embedded Safari cache by quitting NeoOffice and then deleting the ~/Library/Caches/soffice.bin folder.

If that doesn't change anything, quit NeoOffice and delete the ~/Library/Preferences/org.neooffice.NeoOffice.plist file.

No, neither made any difference.

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

benst wrote:
No, neither made any difference.


If you select NeoOffice's Mobile :: Open NeoOffice Mobile menu and in the window that appears, press the "Forgot Password?" button, do you see the same black background behavior?

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benst
Captain


Joined: May 25, 2004
Posts: 72
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
If you select NeoOffice's Mobile :: Open NeoOffice Mobile menu and in the window that appears, press the "Forgot Password?" button, do you see the same black background behavior?

Yes, same thing.

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you see it in all embedded Safari instances and Apple's embedded Safari code is ignoring any CSS that sets background color for text fields, that tells me that you have found a bug in Apple's WebKit code (WebKit is the name of the embedded Safari functions that we use).

I saw the same behavior as you are seeing once in the first Mac OS X 10.8 developer previews, but I do not see it in 10.7.3 or the last 10.8 developer preview.

Do you have access to a 10.7.3 machine? If so, do you see this behavior on that machine? If not, you may want to consider filing a bug with Apple for the 10.7.4 developer preview's WebKit framework as text input field background colors should be white by default and they should respond to CSS settings like Safari does.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to confirm that this is a bug in Apple's WebKit functions, I have wrote a very simple test application that opens an embedded Safari window and loads Google's home page.

Can you run the test program by doing the following steps?:

1. Download the following "webkittest" file to your Desktop by pasting the following commands in a Terminal window and pressing the Return key:

Code:
cd ~/Desktop ; curl -O http://sally.neooffice.org/test/webkittest
chmod 700 ~/Desktop/webkittest


2. Execute the test application by pasting the following command in a Terminal window and pressing the Return key. Note that to quit the test application you will have to press the Control-C keys in the Terminal window:

Code:
~/Desktop/webkittest


I have also attached the "webkittest.m" source code file for this test application in case you want to file a bug with Apple.

Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benst
Captain


Joined: May 25, 2004
Posts: 72
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that test app. It does indeed show the same problem, see attached screenshot.

I will file a bug with Apple and include your example.

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11361
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

benst wrote:
I will file a bug with Apple and include your example.


FYI. To compile the webkittest.m file, here is the Terminal command to use:

Code:
cc -o webkittest -framework AppKit -framework WebKit webkittest.m


Patrick

_________________
NeoOffice engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    trinity.neooffice.org Forum Index -> NeoOffice Support All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds