View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
OPENSTEP The One
Joined: May 25, 2003 Posts: 4752 Location: Santa Barbara, CA
|
Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
Yup, above post is right. In a stock Neo build procedure there are two points of potential CVS server failure. The first is when trying to checkout the source from "anoncvs.neooffice.org", which is the failure mentioned above. The second is after d/ling the source from "anoncvs.neooffice.org", installing required supplementary build helper applications, and then hitting "make" for the first time. After that, the Neo makefile will contact the OOo equivalent of anonymous CVS server and download OOo sources. Since anonymous CVS isn't a priority for CollabNet (after all, their contractual obligations apply slightly more to Sun-employed engineers), OOo anoncvs may be down.
The failure you experienced is in the first, however, in the Neo CVS server. As of late, the OOo anonymous CVS server has been quite robust (for me at least) so any blame is on me for any troubles nslookup has resolving anoncvs.neooffice.org.
ed |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Samwise Captain Naiobi
Joined: Apr 25, 2006 Posts: 2315 Location: Montpellier, France
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 3:24 am Post subject: |
|
Build and installation successful. I haven't tried Neo yet though.
Thanks to all for their help BTW.
Now I have another question : I didn't see any reference to the default version of Java in the build instructions or in the readme, but I remember seeing something about it and the fact that you had to set the default version to 1.4.2 in the Java preferences, maybe in a previous version of the build instructions page. Or is it just me ?
Edit : I just launched NeoOffce 2.0 Alpha 2 and NeoOffice 1.2.2 and opened the same document in both versions. The layout is exactly the same. Neo2 is neat (-er than 1.2.2, too) but remains NeoOffice. Definitely an improvement. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jakeOSX Ninja
Joined: Aug 12, 2003 Posts: 1373
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 4:07 am Post subject: |
|
the build files use 1.4.2 automatically. there was someone trying to compile with 1.5, but that was unsupported. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pluby The Architect
Joined: Jun 16, 2003 Posts: 11949
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 4:34 am Post subject: |
|
Samwise wrote: | Now I have another question : I didn't see any reference to the default version of Java in the build instructions or in the readme, but I remember seeing something about it and the fact that you had to set the default version to 1.4.2 in the Java preferences, maybe in a previous version of the build instructions page. Or is it just me ? |
Someone is actually looked at the build instructions page?
Seriously, I removed the Java 1.4 restriction from the build instructions when I released Neo 1.2 Alpha 2 PowerPC earlier this week as the code now includes the patch for bug 1427 which allows compiling with Java 1.5.
NeoOffice, however, will still only use Java 1.4 at runtime regardless of which Java version is used during your build.
Patrick |
|
Back to top |
|
|
val1984 Oracle
Joined: May 30, 2005 Posts: 229 Location: France
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 5:15 am Post subject: |
|
pluby wrote: | Seriously, I removed the Java 1.4 restriction from the build instructions when I released Neo 1.2 Alpha 2 PowerPC earlier this week as the code now includes the patch for bug 1427 which allows compiling with Java 1.5. |
I believe you mean 2.0 Alpha 2 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pluby The Architect
Joined: Jun 16, 2003 Posts: 11949
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 5:18 am Post subject: |
|
Yes. Good catch.
BTW, I still sometimes accidently say "NeoOffice/J" even though we dropped the "/J" nearly a year ago.
Patrick |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fabriziovenerandi Keymaker
Joined: Oct 12, 2004 Posts: 77 Location: italia
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 6:17 am Post subject: |
|
Quote: | BTW, I still sometimes accidently say "NeoOffice/J" even though we dropped the "/J" nearly a year ago. |
Have you tried rebooting? Sometimes java uses human mind to keep some local variables.
f. _________________ eadem sed non eodem modo facere |
|
Back to top |
|
|
OPENSTEP The One
Joined: May 25, 2003 Posts: 4752 Location: Santa Barbara, CA
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 8:49 pm Post subject: |
|
fabriziovenerandi wrote: | Quote: | BTW, I still sometimes accidently say "NeoOffice/J" even though we dropped the "/J" nearly a year ago. |
Have you tried rebooting? Sometimes java uses human mind to keep some local variables. |
Having gone through some of the Apple java updates recently, though, I don't believe it enforces a reboot after installing a new Java version. While I may be talking out my rear, I'd think a reboot (or at least an unload of any running VM) would be necessary to rebuild the shared archive. Perhaps computers are as dumb as I am?
ed |
|
Back to top |
|
|
OPENSTEP The One
Joined: May 25, 2003 Posts: 4752 Location: Santa Barbara, CA
|
Posted: Sun May 14, 2006 11:15 am Post subject: |
|
Offhand...I just encoutered this error as I'm doing a clean build on my Quad (salivate...).
The anonymous CVS for Neo has a password on it...the password being "anoncvs". Did you do a "cvs login" prior to attempting the build?
This may be a problem isolated to secure CVS users. If you've never logged into the anonymous CVS server before, you'll need to do a manual login with the CVS command at the command line to get the anoncvs password into your cvspass file. If you've not logged into anoncvs yet, you may see a build error like this:
Code: |
cvs checkout: warning: failed to open /Users/peterlin/.cvspass for reading: No such file or directory
cvs checkout: authorization failed: server anoncvs.neooffice.org rejected access to /cvs for user anoncvs
cvs checkout: used empty password; try "cvs login" with a real password
|
If you're getting source via anoncvs, the above shouldn't appear as you'll need to already be logged in to get the source to begin with. If you're building from source from either the source tree on an image or from a different CVS server, you may see the above.
If so, do the following in a terminal to work around it:
Code: |
csh
setenv CVSROOT :pserver:anoncvs@anoncvs.neooffice.org:/cvs
cvs login
|
and use "anoncvs" (without quotes) as the password. After doing that, the password should be stored in your cvspass file and the regular Neo build process should be fine.
The reason why the anoncvs password is required is that we include a full checkout of anoncvs within each disk image produced from the build process. This ensures that anyone getting the binary automatically has the source code for Neo. As a result, anyone mirroring the Neo CVS disk image, whether d/led from us or built from source, is guaranteed to be complying with the GPL restriction that the mirror must provide access to the source free of charge or with purchase of the binary.
ed |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Samwise Captain Naiobi
Joined: Apr 25, 2006 Posts: 2315 Location: Montpellier, France
|
Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
I've just downloaded and installed the latest NeoOffice patch.
Is there a new "Alpha_3" tag in CVS ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pluby The Architect
Joined: Jun 16, 2003 Posts: 11949
|
Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
Samwise wrote: | I've just downloaded and installed the latest NeoOffice patch.
Is there a new "Alpha_3" tag in CVS ? |
Yes, the new tag is NeoOffice-2_0_Alpha_3
Patrick |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Samwise Captain Naiobi
Joined: Apr 25, 2006 Posts: 2315 Location: Montpellier, France
|
Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:41 am Post subject: |
|
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Samwise Captain Naiobi
Joined: Apr 25, 2006 Posts: 2315 Location: Montpellier, France
|
Posted: Wed May 24, 2006 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
I've tried the updated build instructions (http://www.planamesa.com/neojava/en/build.php) to get the latest source from CVS, but apparently there is no such tag as NeoOffice-2_0_Alpha_3-PowerPC ...
It works without the -PowerPC extension though. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pluby The Architect
Joined: Jun 16, 2003 Posts: 11949
|
Posted: Wed May 24, 2006 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
Samwise wrote: | I've tried the updated build instructions (http://www.planamesa.com/neojava/en/build.php) to get the latest source from CVS, but apparently there is no such tag as NeoOffice-2_0_Alpha_3-PowerPC ...
It works without the -PowerPC extension though. |
FYI. I have just removed the "-PowerPC" from the web site pages.
Patrick |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|