NeoOffice :: View topic - "Error writing file"
"Error writing file"

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dinger
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:21 pm    Post subject: "Error writing file"

Hey y'all,

I'm new to the NeoOffice family. Quick question...I've been working on a document that's been open on my desktop for the past couple of days. I just tried saving my changes and got an error message that reads "Write error. Error writing file."

Any ideas why this is happening and how I can save the file?

Thanks!
pluby
The Architect
The Architect

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:34 pm    Post subject:

Does using File :: Save As work? While this isn't a permanent solution, I am hoping it will allow you to save your current edits. If that works, quit NeoOffice and relaunch it and you should be able to save normally again.

Patrick
Dinger
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject:

Nope...I tried doing "Save As" and renaming it but I came up with the same error message.
Max
Agent

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 2:50 am    Post subject: Meta-data?

I have recently had exactly this same problem, in both writer and spreadsheet modes. I discovered a work-around is to save the document as a non-ODF format (e.g. Microsoft Word or Excel, as appropriate). This works OK: you can then re-open the document & save as the native ODF format without trouble. This happened to me in the last EA release.

My current hypothesis is that the ODF formats include an 'editing time' field or similar, somewhere in the meta-data, and this field has a maximum allowable upper limit. Erroneously, the editing time clock runs even while the machine is asleep, hence if you leave a document open for a week or more, as I did, you get this problem.

NeoOffice - so easy to use you can edit documents in your sleep!

Cheers,

Max
Dinger
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:08 am    Post subject: