Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Download or installation problems? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2017? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - NeoOffice/J 1.2 Alpha
NeoOffice/J 1.2 Alpha
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11847
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do not need to save either the old installer or the old patch. So far, I have only been changing implementations within existing C++ methods so any new binaries can be copied directly into an existing Neo/J 1.1 installation. What this means is that you only need to install the new patch into an existing installation. Also, don't worry if you installed an old patch already as the new patch will replace the same binaries that were installed with the old patch. In essence, this makes the new patch a cumulative patch.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jjmckenzie51
The Anomaly


Joined: Apr 01, 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: Southeastern Arizona

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
You do not need to save either the old installer or the old patch. So far, I have only been changing implementations within existing C++ methods so any new binaries can be copied directly into an existing Neo/J 1.1 installation. What this means is that you only need to install the new patch into an existing installation. Also, don't worry if you installed an old patch already as the new patch will replace the same binaries that were installed with the old patch. In essence, this makes the new patch a cumulative patch.


I was going to state this because of the various patches for the beta and the release candidate.

Patches are cumulative. If you want to edit the makefile (and I recommend against this unless you are ABSOLUTELY certain you know what you are doing) you can set up a sequence of patches starting with patch 1 and working up by editing the last version and current version information. Again, I highly recommend against this.

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjmckenzie51
The Anomaly


Joined: Apr 01, 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: Southeastern Arizona

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
FYI. I just committed a bunch of changes to the vcl module that significantly reduces the amount of flicker. I found that vcl was painting a window twice when you first opened it and I have eliminated one of the redundant painting operations.


Looks much better. A significant decrease in flicker and the screen paints better. It does take more time for NeoOffice to launch and load a file than before, but this is a good tradeoff.

BTW, I will send you my updated makefile and patches.

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skuld
Agent


Joined: Mar 20, 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Toulouse, France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby and jjmckenzie51 : thanks for your answers Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jjmckenzie51
The Anomaly


Joined: Apr 01, 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: Southeastern Arizona

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skuld wrote:
pluby and jjmckenzie51 : thanks for your answers Smile


You are very welcome.

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabrizio venerandi
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neooffice/j 1.2 uses 1.1.4 or 1.1.5 Oo code?

f.
Back to top
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11847
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fabrizio venerandi wrote:
neooffice/j 1.2 uses 1.1.4 or 1.1.5 Oo code?


I'm developing with OOo 1.1.4 (so that people will be able to test my Java 1.4 code with an existing Neo/J 1.1 installation). James building my code with OOo 1.1.5 so that when my Java 1.4 code becomes stable, we can be ready to push a full release with OOo 1.1.5.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fabrizio venerandi
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you for the answer.

f.
Back to top
jjmckenzie51
The Anomaly


Joined: Apr 01, 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: Southeastern Arizona

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
fabrizio venerandi wrote:
neooffice/j 1.2 uses 1.1.4 or 1.1.5 Oo code?


I'm developing with OOo 1.1.4 (so that people will be able to test my Java 1.4 code with an existing Neo/J 1.1 installation). James building my code with OOo 1.1.5 so that when my Java 1.4 code becomes stable, we can be ready to push a full release with OOo 1.1.5.


I'm using the release candidate code. There are still issues with 1.1.5 that has delayed its release. Once these issues are overcome, 1.1.5 will be released.

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ovvldc
Captain Naiobi


Joined: Sep 13, 2004
Posts: 2352
Location: Zürich, CH

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jjmckenzie51 wrote:
I'm using the release candidate code. There are still issues with 1.1.5 that has delayed its release. Once these issues are overcome, 1.1.5 will be released.


Same seems to be happening to OOo 1.9 beta. The beta 2 was supposed to come out this month, and by my calendar, they have precious little time left. I suppose it just goes to show the difficulty of handling such complex projects.

Any idea when the causes for these delays may be overcome?

Good luck,
Oscar

_________________
"What do you think of Western Civilization?"
"I think it would be a good idea!"
- Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adam_Moore
Pure-blooded Human


Joined: Jul 10, 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last minute showstopper bugs are the cause of these problems. So you know Beta 2 will be advertised on Monday. 1.1.5 will have an RC4. They are looking for September 5th for that release.
_________________
Adam Moore
OpenDocument Fellowship
Adam.Moore@opendocumentfellowship.org
Demand Microsoft Support OpenDocument
http://opendocumentfellowship.org/petition/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjmckenzie51
The Anomaly


Joined: Apr 01, 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: Southeastern Arizona

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adam_Moore wrote:
Last minute showstopper bugs are the cause of these problems. So you know Beta 2 will be advertised on Monday. 1.1.5 will have an RC4. They are looking for September 5th for that release.


The major showstopper for both of these is the appearence that they will not build on either Panther or Tiger. Eric B. is heading up the effort to get 1.1.5 working and I don't know who is working on OOo 2.0 Beta 2, but I suspect this is Eric, again. I'm hoping to see this happen soon. I can build SRX645_m57 on Tiger with a bunch of patches that I worked through. I'm hoping to get the JCA done this weekend (it is at my SOs apartment which is 70 miles from where I live) and into SUN. Once it is accepted, I will ask to start a child workspace where I can put the patched code and get it to QA.

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adam_Moore
Pure-blooded Human


Joined: Jul 10, 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From what I'm reading 1.1.5 doesn't have problems with panther it's only 2.0, but I could be mistaken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjmckenzie51
The Anomaly


Joined: Apr 01, 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: Southeastern Arizona

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adam_Moore wrote:
From what I'm reading 1.1.5 doesn't have problems with panther it's only 2.0, but I could be mistaken.


It appears that 1.1.4 will be the last version of OOo that will work reliably with Jaguar (10.2.x). 1.1.5 will have as it's baseline Panther (10.3.x). There are reported problems running Panther builds of both 1.1.5rc3 and 2.0 Beta 2 which were built on Panther on systems running Tiger (10.4.x). However, Eric B's builds do work on Tiger (I have proof of this) of both.

Here is something to consider: If a build is done on Tiger it should not run on Panther, however a build on Panther does run on Tiger or it should.

In any case, we need to keep up with the actions on the 1.1.5 side in order to have a version of Neo/J that will incorporate the new features (such as read only of OpenDocuments) of this new version. However, this should happen after Java 1.4 support is finalized by Patrick and Ed. All I do is build what they produce on Tiger to make sure that it is possible and that 'stuff' does not break.

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fundamental problem is that no one doing the builds for official release comprehends the needs of the problem at hand.

Since libraries are incorporated in the OOo build process through simplistic -L directives, you have to build the program on the minimal configuration of OS + X server + supporting apps on which you want the s/w to be able to run. If you link against a newer binary version, dyld will barf when it can't find the correct symbols.

I used to spend a lot of time on the X11 builds and underestimated the work producing a build and installer that can function on the majority of OS and supporting X11 variants. It's not trivial, but it's incredibly boring and requires a lot of free partitions lingering around to do it right.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Development All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 4 of 7

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.03 Seconds