Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Download or installation problems? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2017? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - How to Start NeoOffice 2 and not default to Writer?
How to Start NeoOffice 2 and not default to Writer?
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
randyharris
Red Pill


Joined: Jul 04, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:53 am    Post subject: How to Start NeoOffice 2 and not default to Writer? Reply with quote

I can't seem to find an option to start NeoOffice 2 to start to a more generic beginning, it always goes straight into Writer.

Is there something similar to Microsoft Offices splash screen which asks you which program you want to go into?

Thanks much,

This is looking really nice on my Intel Mac so far. Smile

Randy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeoOffice (like OOo) is an integrated application and isn't spilt up into separate applications like Office. The easiest way to change the component loaded at startup is to create blank template files of each type and then instead of launching the application, double-click the template files to start the application.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Guest
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What ed says and other related things are discussed in great depth here:

http://trinity.neooffice.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2804

Happy 4th everyone! Strange, I'm now retired but still need to work so after enjoying the day with friends it's back to looking for a job...
Back to top
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bingo. I was looking for that thread but gave up searching for it.

Generally I never "relaunch" Neo, leave it running with no windows open, and then use the Apple menu options for creating new documents. Unless memory is really at a premium for you, it's best to just keep it running.

On Windows, for example, OOo "cheats" by adding in a taskbar icon that starts preloading parts of OOo at system startup time. We don't do that Smile

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
LemonAid
The Anomaly


Joined: Nov 21, 2005
Posts: 1285
Location: Witless Protection Program

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and here is the direct link to the Wiki article listed in the message above: http://neowiki.sixthcrusade.com/index.php/NeoOffice_Launch_Shortcuts

The Wiki often has excellent articles how to do common tasks!

Philip (Fighting for Independance ... from MSO - Use NeoOffice! Wink )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randyharris
Red Pill


Joined: Jul 04, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand that NeoOffice is a consolidated app and not seperate apps. I've got no problem with that. It just seems odd that it defaults to Writer every time I open the program regardless of what I intend to work with.

Couldn't there be a splash screen like the one below, which asks you what you want to do with NeoOffice, rather than assume Writer?



Randy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The long and short answer is that, although it may be possible to write a custom dialog like MS Office, we're not going to be doing it. We're focused on getting VCL and other technical underpinnings working at this time. No user interface customization is being undertaken at this time and none is planned.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ovvldc
Captain Naiobi


Joined: Sep 13, 2004
Posts: 2352
Location: Zürich, CH

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OPENSTEP wrote:
The long and short answer is that, although it may be possible to write a custom dialog like MS Office, we're not going to be doing it. We're focused on getting VCL and other technical underpinnings working at this time. No user interface customization is being undertaken at this time and none is planned.


I suppose some one could write an applescript or small cocoa program that allows you to select a template and pass that to NeoOffice. Unless you want a preview pane, you do not need to know anything about NeoOffice to do this..

(not that I am volunteering, just suggesting to whomever finds it important enough)

Best wishes,
Oscar

_________________
"What do you think of Western Civilization?"
"I think it would be a good idea!"
- Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toonetown
Keymaker


Joined: Apr 21, 2006
Posts: 95
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The application templates that are discussed in the previously mentioned thread strive to make it appear that there are multiple applications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier


Joined: Feb 01, 2004
Posts: 4588

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still don't see the problem with opening Neo once and then choosing the appropriate document type from the NeoOffice menu. Or, if you really need a window of all sorts of stuff, the "From Template" lets you access your templates and create any sort of new document.

Smokey

_________________
"[...] whether the duck drinks hot chocolate or coffee is irrelevant." -- ovvldc and sardisson in the NeoWiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
toonetown
Keymaker


Joined: Apr 21, 2006
Posts: 95
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think what you are suggesting would be good - if there were a way to get NeoOffice to start without even opening a writer window...That way, you just open NeoOffice, and you choose what you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, unfortunately there isn't that easy of a way to do that as OOo opens to its grey window which is more confusing to most users...also it's rather non-standard for Mac applications to open without an initial document window (that behaviour has been around since the system 7 days).

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
fabriziovenerandi
Keymaker


Joined: Oct 12, 2004
Posts: 77
Location: italia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can easy change it with a macro.
For example my neooffice 1.2 starts opening the database working form using this macro:

sub apri_documento
rem questa è una prova
dim oFrame as object
dim Doc as Object
dim Url as String
oFrame = ThisComponent.getCurrentController().getFrame()
dim leggo(0) as New com.sun.star.beans.PropertyValue

url="file:///Users/fabrizio/Desktop/Archivio/form database/eventi.sdw"

leggo(0).Name="ReadOnly"
leggo(0).Value=TRUE
Doc = oFrame.loadComponentFromUrl(Url, "", 2, leggo())

end sub

Yu can change the macro, and after you have to go in TOOLS/CONFIGURE/EVENTS and link the macro to the 'start' application.

f.

_________________
eadem sed non eodem modo facere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
yoxi
Cipher


Joined: Sep 07, 2004
Posts: 1799
Location: Dawlish, Devon

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A useful macro! Does "questa è una prova" translate as "this is a test"? It was the only non-international line Smile

- padmavyuha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabriziovenerandi
Keymaker


Joined: Oct 12, 2004
Posts: 77
Location: italia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ops, yes. It was a test but it works, so I forget to remove the rem line Wink
_________________
eadem sed non eodem modo facere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.03 Seconds