Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Download or installation problems? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2017? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - Downloading NeoOffice
Downloading NeoOffice
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice/C Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drofluf
Blue Pill


Joined: Jun 12, 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Kent, England

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 7:06 am    Post subject: Downloading NeoOffice Reply with quote

Is there a problem with the server?

When I click on the link it times out and using iGetter it never connects, just seems to remain waiting?

Thanks

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fa
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: May 27, 2003
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, Ed only has 10k uplink cause he's on DSL, so expect it to be slow. For example, when the Flaming Yeti build was release, his server was pretty much jammed for a couple of days.

Plus, doesn't iGetter use multiple connections to grab pieces of the file? Thats really really evil (forgive me if iGetter does not do this). As a server operator myself with limited bandwidth, if someone using a splitting download manager like this sucks up all the bandwidth, then nobody else is able to get anything until that person is done. It gets the file quickly for that one person, but screws everybody else.

Anyway, just keep trying. Ed was having some DNS issues a couple days ago too. He's going to increase his uplink speed as well.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fa wrote:
Plus, doesn't iGetter use multiple connections to grab pieces of the file? Thats really really evil (forgive me if iGetter does not do this).


If the link is timing out, there may be a number of reasons, including the following:

    There are already 2 anonymous users connected.
    The bandwidth cap has been reached.
    The bandwidth shaper has given more priority to a registered CVS user.
    I unplugged the cable since I need the bandwith to get OOo to a mirror.
    iGetter does use multiple conections.


If that last one is in fact true, your IP may have been blacklisted on the server for a couple of hours. The server has anti-hammering provisions in place that drop machines that try to make multiple connections. Unfortunately, this means from my server at least, SpeedDownload style customers will be hosed Sad I'm going to try to set up a BitTorrent server this weekend so people wanting to get it can mutually leech off of each other for when my connection maxes out.

The logic behind why I set up the server so anally are in the NeoFTP FAQ. Basically, in this style of configuration it serves to guarantee that if you get a connection, you should get 8K/s speeds. I tried setting up a free-for-all server before, and it just got hammered to the point where no one could get more then 200 bytes per second.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Terry Teague
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 1:46 am    Post subject: Re:Server load Reply with quote

OPENSTEP wrote:
If the link is timing out, there may be a number of reasons, including the following:

    There are already 2 anonymous users connected.
    The bandwidth cap has been reached.
    The bandwidth shaper has given more priority to a registered CVS user.
    I unplugged the cable since I need the bandwith to get OOo to a mirror.
    iGetter does use multiple conections.

The logic behind why I set up the server so anally are in the NeoFTP FAQ. Basically, in this style of configuration it serves to guarantee that if you get a connection, you should get 8K/s speeds. I tried setting up a free-for-all server before, and it just got hammered to the point where no one could get more then 200 bytes per second.

ed

Trying to download the OOo 1.0.3RC1 image using "ftp" from the Mac OS X command line - Wednesday, it was going to take about 7-8 hours (I was on a T1 line) - I gave up after an hour; Thursday, initially there were too many anonymous users so I couldn't download; later in the day, the download was going to take 35-50 hours (same T1 line) - I was probably getting 1.5 Kb/sec - I gave up after several hours.

It might be quicker for you to burn a CD and express mail it to someone with better bandwidth, to upload it to a mirror, such as OOoDocs Smile

Regards, Terry
Back to top
drofluf
Blue Pill


Joined: Jun 12, 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Kent, England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Plus, doesn't iGetter use multiple connections to grab pieces of the file? Thats really really evil (forgive me if iGetter does not do this).


I've set iGetter to use only 1 segment - is that the same thing since there is no option to control the number of connections.

Also trying with a command line ftp since that seems to be less evil Very Happy

Other than that thanks for the feedback - I'll just be patient

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drofluf
Blue Pill


Joined: Jun 12, 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Kent, England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can now get an ftp connection but it doesn't seem to like my username/password - I've tried blanks for both and my neooffice id and password but neither work

Is there an account that I can use?

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use the username "anonymous" and anything as the e-mail address. That should allow you to login.

The FTP server lives on a different machine, so the username/pass is distinct from the forums.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
hanoman
Blue Pill


Joined: Jul 01, 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 1:19 pm    Post subject: Re:Server load Reply with quote

Terry Teague wrote:

Trying to download the OOo 1.0.3RC1 image using "ftp" from the Mac OS X command line - Wednesday, it was going to take about 7-8 hours (I was on a T1 line) - I gave up after an hour; Thursday, initially there were too many anonymous users so I couldn't download; later in the day, the download was going to take 35-50 hours (same T1 line) - I was probably getting 1.5 Kb/sec - I gave up after several hours.

It might be quicker for you to burn a CD and express mail it to someone with better bandwidth, to upload it to a mirror, such as OOoDocs Smile

Regards, Terry

Just try to download it from openoffice.org. It will be much faster.

Hans
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(experiencing the joys of 28.8 dialup...now have much appreciation for lacking of bandwidth)

The full GM image of the OpenOffice.org installer and localizer are in the main mirror network. The tarball is still not there, more as it wasn't ready in time. It should still be available here and also on the .Mac mirror.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
dragonmac
Blue Pill


Joined: Sep 12, 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:28 am    Post subject: What .mac acct? Reply with quote

OPENSTEP wrote:
(experiencing the joys of 28.8 dialup...now have much appreciation for lacking of bandwidth)

The full GM image of the OpenOffice.org installer and localizer are in the main mirror network. The tarball is still not there, more as it wasn't ready in time. It should still be available here and also on the .Mac mirror.

ed


I have been trying to DL your Flaming Yeti build and still no luck. I have been here before as a guest over the last couple of days on differnt networks and still I can't DL. So I join, no good. Is there a mirror I can got?? .mac acct??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 8:06 am    Post subject: Mirrors Reply with quote

Yes, there is at least one mirror: http://schlesi.is-a-geek.org:8080/NeoOffice/index.html .

You can download there NeoOffice and NeoOffice/J - ready to run or the sourcecode. But NeoOffice is not the "flaming yeti", it's built of CVS-code of 09/06/03. The server is located in Germany and connected via 1024/128kBit-ADSL.

Thomas
Back to top
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My servers have also been down and up over the last few days...(thanks a lot Verizon...)...

You'll also have trouble getting into the FTP server with Safari, I believe. Try command-line FTP, Transfer, etc. since they'll actually report the error messages (like no more anonymous users allowed) properly to you instead of complaining about dead links.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
morph3ous
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:35 am    Post subject: I just mirrored the files Reply with quote

I put a mirror of the files up here:
http://neooffice.bustininc.com

The connection should be very fast. I hope this helps everyone out. I really admire what everyone is doing with this project, and this is my way of saying "Keep up the good work." I'll keep it up indefinitely unless the bandwidth use kills my hosting provider.

The builds of NeoOffice are unfortunately the ones that don't work on Panther. Can anyone get me the CVS build based on 1.1? I could put that up as well (and use it).
Back to top
schlesi
Oracle


Joined: Jun 07, 2003
Posts: 234
Location: near Cologne, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

morph3ous,

you can download a Panther-enabled and OOO-1.1-based version of NeoOffice via Bittorrent here: http://schlesi.is-a-geek.org:8080/NeoOffice/NeoOffice.dmg.Z.torrent.

Thomas[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
morph3ous
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 10:31 am    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Thank you, I will do that shortly.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice/C Support All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.02 Seconds