Support
· Forums
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki

Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice

Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - First attempt with Neo/J. Comments and bugs.
First attempt with Neo/J. Comments and bugs.

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Testing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jimlaurent
Captain

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 8:38 pm    Post subject: First attempt with Neo/J. Comments and bugs.

I'm new to NeoOffice/J even though I've been a somewhat active tester of the OOO betas. I downloaded 0.0.1 today with the printtest4 patch.

I have a 400 MHz iMac DV with 768 RAM and an Epson C60 printer. So far I've only tested with a few documents including a drawing "blueprint" style document.

Display comments:

Lines that display and print as hairline width in OOO are several pixels wide in Neo/J.

Arcs that a appears as a smooth open arc have a straight line connecting the ends of the arc in Neo/J.

Text items which appear perfectly smooth when horizontal become quite grainy edged when rotated 90 degrees.

Slow response but it's Java and I have a 400 Mhz iMac so what can I expect....

Printing issues

When using dimension lines that are vertical, the label text runs sideways on the screen but are horizontal on the printout with the label "ft" located above the number. The labels also overlap the dimension line.

Text labels inside of boxes that print cleanly when horizontal print as overlapped horizontal text when rotated 90 degrees. It should print as rotated text. The text displays on screen correctly but with rough edges when rotated.

As above, partial "open" arcs are closed by a straight line when printed.

Selecting File print and then changing your mind forces you to "Cancel" 3 separate dialog boxes to get back to work.