· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Mac Tiger compatibilty
Mac Tiger compatibilty

NeoOffice Forum Index -> Random Whatnot
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rmratliff
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:20 pm    Post subject: Mac Tiger compatibilty

Hello I am new to the forum, but I have been an Open Office user for about 2.5 years on Linux machines mostly and on Windows machine years ago. My question is: I am about to purchase an Apple laptop for my wife, I want to install either Open Office X11 or Neo Office J. Is either of these programs compatible with the upcoming Tiger release from Apple. In addition, when saving word processing files; does Neo Office and OO X11 have the same file compatibility that I have grown acustomed to or should I lower myself and use MS office for Mac? I am not a prorammer at all, but I am a dedicated user of GPL products and have been for years. Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated.
knutkja
Captain

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:35 pm    Post subject:

As far as I know, all software running on Mac OS 10.x (or maybe .2 or .3) will run on the Tiger. Tiger is Mac OS 10.4 with lots of new features.

Both NeoOffice/J and OOo X11 has the required file compatibility, but I believe NeoOffice/J is based on a newer OOo source code (1.1.4) than the X11 version (1.1.3), with better compability - specially regarding Wordperfect files.

Smile
rmratliff
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 3:06 pm    Post subject:

Thanks for the prompt reply and help. It is greatly appreciated.
pluby
The Architect
The Architect

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 3:21 pm    Post subject:

FYI. I just spent several hours today at the Apple campus testing Neo/J on the last developer preview release of Tiger (thanks go to Apple for allowing me to use their compatibility lab).