· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Why the Anger Revisited
Why the Anger Revisited

NeoOffice Forum Index -> Ranting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wstrohm
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:29 am    Post subject: Why the Anger Revisited

There is a thread titled "Why All the Anger?" which I scanned. Perhaps I can answer that from a user's point of view.

Background: I have been using Macs since about 1986. Since 1995 I have had a PM8500 running Mac OS 9, but 2 months ago I bought a Dual 2.7 GHz G5 and am currently running Mac OS 10.4.2. Under Classic I run MS Office 98, which works just fine, but I'm trying to wean myself off of the Classic apps.

I received an e-mail from a friend who said I should try NeoOffice/J, so I downloaded and installed it.

1) I opened NeoOffice/J, was presented with a blank document, and proceeded to write a rather long letter. When I clicked "Save," I received the error message "No such object. The path to this object does not exist." Now that seems to me like an Open Dialog error, not a Save Dialog error. I had no way to recover from that error dialog ("OK" just returned me to the open document) other than to do Edit/Select All/Copy, which I assumed would put the text on the Clipboard. However, after opening Classic, then MS Word 98, I found the "Paste" menu item dimmed. When I clicked "Show Clipboard," the contents were empty. So the text did not transfer from NeoOffice to the Classic clipboard. The net result was I lost my letter. ANGER!