Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Wondering about development
Wondering about development

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
evster
Red Pill

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Wondering about development

Hi there,

I actually just started using mac a few weeks ago, so far I like it. I am a software developer (I use linux for my main os) and I was wondering about helping in developing NeoOffice. A couple overview questions, how many people are currently working on it? I am pretty busy over the next few months but in January I am going to have a lighter free time schedule and I have always wanted to join an opensource project.

So basically I am wondering what kind of tasks I could expect to help out with. This would be my first time developing on mac os so it will take a bit of time to get used to I am sure.

Thanks!
Evan Kirkland
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:34 am    Post subject:

Welcome! Patrick or Ed are the ones with the real, detailed answers, but just a couple of things and links until then....

Neo/J (soon to be just NeoOffice) has two developers right now, Patrick (pluby) and Ed (OPENSTEP); Patrick works full-time on Neo parts of the year, resources available, and Ed hacks after he gets home from his day job Smile

Recently, James McKenzie has helped out with building the latest development code and catching "alpha" issues before the code gets released as a Test Patch for the rest of us, and also in ensuring the Java 1.4.2 code builds with OOo 1.1.5 so we could use that as the basis of Neo 1.2 Alpha....