Support
· Forums
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki

Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice

Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Newbie question (install)
Newbie question (install)

NeoOffice Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org MacOS X X11 Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bitstone

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 8:01 pm    Post subject: Newbie question (install)

I'm new to Macs as well as open office. I just received a mac mini and I'm trying to install either the 1.1.2 version or the newer, beta 2.0 version. The 1.1.2 wants jaguar for X11 and I have Tiger. Version 2.0 is missing some load file (libvcl680mxp.dylib). Can someone give me some direction and heads up what I should load and where I get the necessary support software?

Thanks in advance

Bob
jjmckenzie51
The Anomaly

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Newbie question (install)

bitstone wrote:
I'm new to Macs as well as open office. I just received a mac mini and I'm trying to install either the 1.1.2 version or the newer, beta 2.0 version. The 1.1.2 wants jaguar for X11 and I have Tiger. Version 2.0 is missing some load file (libvcl680mxp.dylib). Can someone give me some direction and heads up what I should load and where I get the necessary support software?

First, X11 is X11. For Tiger, you need to use your Tiger install disk to install X11. I've described elsewhere how this is done.
Second, it appears that you have a faulty download of OpenOffice 2.0rc3 for Mac X11 (there has not been an offical release of OpenOffice 2.0 for MacX11 due to several outstanding issues.) May I inquire where you downloaded this release?

Thank you.

James

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:04 am    Post subject:

Hi James, thanks for the post.

The mac mini that we bought does not have any Tiger install disks, just the two general install disks that has everything. AFAIK, Tiger is already installed, but the 1.1.2 OO install wants Jaguar's third install disk.