Support
· Forums
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki

Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice

Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Newbie here - please be kind!
Newbie here - please be kind!

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hamstermoon
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:03 am    Post subject: Newbie here - please be kind!

I am a big NeoOffice fan and have it on my mac at home (hence being in this usergroup) and in the process of trialing Openoffice for use with students at the college where I work.

One thing hit me - and I don't know if you can do anything about this - but while Openoffice and NeoOffice seem to open anything and save as anything they do seem to have a problem with MS / Apple Works files. MS Word has the same problem and we have a heck of a problem reminding students to save their work as .doc files.

If we had a few computers with Openoffice on / Macs with NeoOffice that COULD open Works files if students came in with wrongly saved files we would be fireproof.

This would save a lot of tantrums and panic on assignment handing in days I can tell you!

Can you help?
OPENSTEP
The One
The One

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:36 am    Post subject:

To open/save Works documents, either MS Works or AppleWorks, would require reverse engineering their proprietary file formats. We haven't really had the resources to do that, and reverse engineering file formats correctly is something of an art form. That's why the guys in Hamburg who did StarOffice/OOo are really slick. If the MS Office import/export wasn't as good, I doubt you'd see OOo/SO as popular as they are.