My wish list

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
zzal
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:53 am    Post subject: My wish list

Hello group.
Here's my wishList for a NeoOffice 2.0 aqua app:

1) Real Aqua interfaces... In the sens of beeing more strictly compliant to the Apple Human Interface Guidelines. (see developer.apple.com
here)

2) Original icons set, not for the toolbars but the Application's icon set. The icon with the old ship is OK, but not could be greatly improved. Could have a more professional look.

I'm a UI designer, I can help for that! Where can I get the source code?
Smile
Samwise
Captain Naiobi

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:12 am    Post subject:

NeoOffice remains a port of OpenOffice.org, and creating an AHIG-compliant version would require re-writing lots of OOo code, something that can't be achieved by the two NeoOffice developers.

Patrick (the main developer) is attached to the ship icon, so it's highly unlikely that we will replace it in the near future.

Quote:
2) Original icons set, not for the toolbars but the Application's icon set. The icon with the old ship is OK, but not could be greatly improved. Could have a more professional look.

We already have nice Finder document icons, but some people are working on a new (toolbar, I know) icon set here.

The source code for NeoOffice is available as part of the disk image. Source for the various icons etc. should be somewhere in the src folder (I think).
jakeOSX
Ninja
Ninja

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:19 am    Post subject:

if you follow the instructions on how to build, the first thing done is to download all of the sources.

not to sound harsh, but the UI code of openoffice.org is not easy to deal with. ed has spent months to get it to where it is now. while a designer is nice (esp for icons) actual redesign of the UI will require you to be a programmer as well.
zzal
Blue Pill