Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Download or installation problems? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2017? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - Problem with Auto Correct
Problem with Auto Correct
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vicjoe
Captain


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: thanks for the confirmation Reply with quote

Good. That’s how I’m gonna post from now on ‘cause I’m a <typographic perfectionist>. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickeyinlalaland
Oracle


Joined: Feb 18, 2007
Posts: 239
Location: LaLaLand

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vicjoe
I knew you'd see the notation: "only on Windows systems"

I'm in your court; 15 years setting type for auto brochures using galley's and hand cutting type onto paste boards, computers and linotronic outputs to Quark and InDesign creating custom kerning pairs and special cut characters; I've had many hours of debating fonts that look/are cut to mimic the curve of a car... Typography/typesetting has a long history!

Glad to have your point made!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicjoe
Captain


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:07 pm    Post subject: 15 years? Reply with quote

You came in at the beginning of a golden age. Imagine a Mac II and PageMaker 1.0a, lots of paste-up and only graphics place holders on the 13 inch screen.

Anyway, back to NeoO, I don't know much about macros, would that be a work-around for this space-two dashes-space thing? I suppose doing a search-replace is the simplest, it is just that I have spent too much of my life working around Windoz Kludges. Rolling Eyes

Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickeyinlalaland
Oracle


Joined: Feb 18, 2007
Posts: 239
Location: LaLaLand

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don’t have to imagine; I endured PageMaker; MacDraw was fun - drawing with pixels! 40MB was thought to be enough! bahaha!

Great idea: a macro to replace -- for —

if others don’t want to write a macro then set a document with the AutoCorrect addition:
Tools> AutoCorrect> Replace (tab);
in Replace window enter --
in With window enter —
then “new”

or ye ’ol classic Find & Replace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicjoe
Captain


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:57 pm    Post subject: I tried that earlier... Reply with quote

Quote:
if others don’t want to write a macro then set a document with the AutoCorrect addition:
Tools> AutoCorrect> Replace (tab);
in Replace window enter --
in With window enter —
then “new”

Id’ done that earlier, entered it, unchecked the two boxes for replacing dashes, then used Autoformat>Apply and nothing happened, the same ol’ space-two dashes-space were there unchanged. What have I missed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doctype
Oracle


Joined: Dec 08, 2005
Posts: 291
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:05 am    Post subject: Re: I tried that earlier... Reply with quote

vicjoe wrote:
Id’ done that earlier, entered it, unchecked the two boxes for replacing dashes, then used Autoformat>Apply and nothing happened, the same ol’ space-two dashes-space were there unchanged. What have I missed?


- Did you check "Use replacement table" in Options?
- Text was selected?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vicjoe
Captain


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:10 am    Post subject: Hey... Reply with quote

Hey mickeyinlalaland,

Your last message used real quotes and em dashes; I looked at the source code and they weren't encoded. The page’s charset is 8859-1. I’m guessing that it shows up as you intended as we both use Macs. What would those characters look like on a slightly older machine with, say Win 2000 Pro in IE 6? Would they still see the right characters (I thought UTF-8 would need to be specified to do that)? I don’t have a Dos box to test stuff with, I just used the numeric entities as insurance, but what do I know? Sheesh, my age is showing. Are OS X and Win fonts now in the same “place”?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickeyinlalaland
Oracle


Joined: Feb 18, 2007
Posts: 239
Location: LaLaLand

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

doctype-
when applied it brings in an “en” dash rather than an “em” dash

there is:
dash - (minus sign)
“en” dash – (option -)
“em” dash — (option shift -)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicjoe
Captain


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:18 am    Post subject: Yep Reply with quote

Quote:
- Did you check "Use replacement table" in Options?
- Text was selected?

Yes, both boxes were checked. I didn’t realize text should be selected, but when I did so, still nothing happened.

Never mind, I’m going to take a break and open a vein. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicjoe
Captain


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:24 am    Post subject: doctype? Reply with quote

Quote:
doctype-
when applied it brings in an “en” dash rather than an “em” dash

there is:
dash - (minus sign)
“en” dash – (option -)
“em” dash — (option shift -)

Not sure what you're saying here, the doctype on this board is conservative, 4.0.1 transitional. Are you saying that with a charset of 8859-1 it boo-boo’s and puts in the en instead of em, just like NeoO?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doctype
Oracle


Joined: Dec 08, 2005
Posts: 291
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:46 am    Post subject: Re: Yep Reply with quote

vicjoe wrote:
Quote:
- Did you check "Use replacement table" in Options?
- Text was selected?

Yes, both boxes were checked. I didn’t realize text should be selected, but when I did so, still nothing happened.

That's odd, because in my tests it worked that way. Well, you may always Search & Replace, and I'm sure it's possible to record a Macro to do that job regularly - it's just I have never worked with Macros.

Quote:
Are you saying that with a charset of 8859-1 it boo-boo’s and puts in the en instead of em, just like NeoO?

— (em dash) is not part of ISO-8859-1, and the forum system doesn't transform it into one of the available entities &#8212; &#x2014; or &mdash;. But with Safari it looks fine, as should with any other modern browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mickeyinlalaland
Oracle


Joined: Feb 18, 2007
Posts: 239
Location: LaLaLand

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vicjoe
Alright, so I cheated and didn't encode the entries, just did the key-command entries Rolling Eyes
I'm a Mac person who has grudgingly used a PC in the past
(in a winery lab to run enology results — but that’s another story)

don’t open a vein - open a bottle of wine!

Perhaps you have defined/found the answer; I'm only using a Mac; so I have nothing to compare it too; but an “en” dash is entered eventhough I specified an “em” dash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicjoe
Captain


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:59 am    Post subject: ANSI problem? Reply with quote

AFAIK, ISO-8859 goes back to doctype 3.2, including the em dash; maybe it is an ANSI issue, as the ANSI # is 151 generally, and in MacRoman is 209. Perhaps Safari compensates for this (as, evidently does the Mac version of FireFox).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doctype
Oracle


Joined: Dec 08, 2005
Posts: 291
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:59 am    Post subject: Re: Hey... Reply with quote

vicjoe wrote:
Hey mickeyinlalaland,

Your last message used real quotes and em dashes; I looked at the source code and they weren't encoded. The page’s charset is 8859-1. I’m guessing that it shows up as you intended as we both use Macs. What would those characters look like on a slightly older machine with, say Win 2000 Pro in IE 6? Would they still see the right characters (I thought UTF-8 would need to be specified to do that)?

I checked with Win 2000 & IE 6 and everything looks fine — so I guess we can now (after years of misery) rely on the most common browsers to detect such character input and output properly, even if they are not part of the declared charset.

mickeyinlalaland wrote:
doctype-
when applied it brings in an “en” dash rather than an “em” dash

If I create a custom replacement rule (-- => —, see my post above) and I deactivate the standard dash rules, it works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
doctype
Oracle


Joined: Dec 08, 2005
Posts: 291
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:08 am    Post subject: Re: ANSI problem? Reply with quote

vicjoe wrote:
AFAIK, ISO-8859 goes back to doctype 3.2, including the em dash; maybe it is an ANSI issue, as the ANSI # is 151 generally, and in MacRoman is 209. Perhaps Safari compensates for this (as, evidently does the Mac version of FireFox).

I'm definitely confused now. According to Wikipedia, em dash is part of Unicode, Windows-1252 and Mac-Roman, but not ISO-8859-1 or -15. That's all a over my head, apparently; I'm anyway happy, that it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.04 Seconds