Support
· Forums
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki

Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice

Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - OOo 1.1.1 preferences folder, permissions and multi-users
OOo 1.1.1 preferences folder, permissions and multi-users

NeoOffice Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org X11 Testing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kotsopoulos
Red Pill

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 7:10 am    Post subject: OOo 1.1.1 preferences folder, permissions and multi-users

I just installed version 1.1.1 for X11 and have noticed a few perculiarities.

Since I am an admin user and I installed OOo everything in the /Applications/OpenOffice.org1.1.1 got owner = "me" and group = "admin".

OOo seems to start up OK for me but not for other users. When starting as another user there is a message warning that the
"personal setting are locked" or currently in use. So I went looking for clues.

Firstly there doesn't seem to be a ~/Library/Preferences/OpenOffice.org1.1.1 folder.

Second, in the /Applications/OpenOffice.org1.1.1 folder the permissions are generally such that other and group never get write access.

I guess other users need permission to modify something in the /Applications/OpenOffice.org1.1.1. But that's not the way it's supposed to work. Version 1.0.3 seems to have handled multi-users properly (with an OOo folder in ~/Library/Preferences)

Have I missed a step in the set up or is version 1.1.1 still under development?
OPENSTEP
The One
The One

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject:

Did you install 1.1.1 via the InstallAnywhere installer available from ftp.neooffice.org or did you use some other installation method?