Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Problems after upgrading to Sierra or High Sierra? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2017? Try these steps
Download or installation problems? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - Hit TAB to indent paragraph margins ... please!
Hit TAB to indent paragraph margins ... please!
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> New Features Program
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andrewgr
Blue Pill


Joined: Sep 10, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:40 pm    Post subject: Hit TAB to indent paragraph margins ... please! Reply with quote

In both NeoOffice and Word, you can change a paragraph's indentation by moving the mouse up to the ruler and dragging the tabs around. However, Word adds a mouse-free technique: you can indent a whole paragraph by hitting TAB when the cursor is planted at the far left of any line except the first. The time savings is huge for anyone who indents a lot -- note-takers, outliners, etc. If this function confuses some people, it should be optional.

This summer I tried the switch from Word to NeoOffice. I really wanted this new relationship to work, I gave it care and patience, but we broke it off after a month. It was this single missing feature that broke my heart. I'd grown ADDICTED to it.

If Neo changes, I'll take her back again.

Sorry if this request breaks etiquette. (Is "Word" a four-letter-word around here?) I'm a non-programmer and new around these parts.


Last edited by andrewgr on Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:50 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ovvldc
Captain Naiobi


Joined: Sep 13, 2004
Posts: 2352
Location: Zürich, CH

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, maybe not with a tab, but you can assign a key combination to the indent button, or set up a style to deal with it..

Anyway, good luck with reviving your previous relationship..

Best wishes,
Oscar

_________________
"What do you think of Western Civilization?"
"I think it would be a good idea!"
- Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11800
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Hit TAB to indent paragraph margins ... please! Reply with quote

andrewgr wrote:
If Neo changes, I'll take her back again.

Sorry if this request breaks etiquette. (Is "Word" a four-letter-word around here?) I'm a non-programmer and new around these parts.


No, Word is not a four-letter word here. Microsoft Office is really a high end product on the Mac and, for many people, this extra little features that it has makes it well worth the cost.

Since the NeoOffice project is funded entirely by user donations and, as a result, funding and developer are very limited, we are considering a new approach for choosing new features to devote our limited resources to through a revived New Features Program is in the following topic:

http://trinity.neooffice.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=6312

If we get a lot of posts from other people that are can confirm that this is a feature worth looking at, we can estimate how many votes we will need and can then add it to the New Features Program page when it goes live.

In the meantime, you may want to try ovvldc's recommended approach using the following steps:

1. Select the Tools :: Customize menu
2. In the dialog that appears, click on the Keyboard tab
3. In that tab, select the Writer radio button, select Format in the Category list, Increase Indent in the Function list, and then select a keyboard shortcut in the Shortcut Keys list.
4. Press the OK button and you can now use that keyboard shortcut to increase the indent in any Writer document window.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andrewgr
Blue Pill


Joined: Sep 10, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Patrick, thanks for walking me through the instructions ... that's a FABULOUS fix! I had no idea NeoOffice had that kind of power lying around. I'm taking her back tonight. (I'm using shift-apple-right to increase indent; shift-apple-left to decrease indent.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagusaurus
Blue Pill


Joined: Oct 28, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:15 pm    Post subject: Tab Stop vs Increase Indent Reply with quote

This solution solves part of my problem in that I can create a keyboard short cut to increase an indent, but what I would really like to do is just to be able to tab to the next tab stop without increasing the indent. I know how to create the tab stops, but can't work out how to tab to them.

An example for clarity purposes: If I want to list my contact details like telephone, email and fax at the bottom of the document then the descriptions should be left aligned but I want the actual numbers to be neatly aligned under each other at a tab stop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James3359
The Merovingian


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 685
Location: North West England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you have set up the tab stops you just type whatever text you want, then press the Tab key to jump to the next tab stop. Does this help, or have I misunderstood your question?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagusaurus
Blue Pill


Joined: Oct 28, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 5:03 am    Post subject: Tab Stop vs Increase Indent Reply with quote

My apologies, I neglected to add one important bit of information. I'm adding the tab stops into a table. Clicking on the tab button just takes you to the next cell in the table.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James3359
The Merovingian


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 685
Location: North West England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:37 am    Post subject: Inserting Tab character within table cells Reply with quote

OK, I guessed it might be more complicated than it looked. According to this OpenOffice information it ought to be possible by using Ctrl-Tab, but as you may already have discovered, this doesn't work in NeoOffice. I don't know if this is a bug, or a symptom of some of the challenges in translating OOo to Macintosh. Maybe the OS is trapping the Ctrl-Tab keystroke.

It is not an ideal solution but you could work round this by copying a tab character and pasting it into your table cell. It's a bit klunky, but it would do the job for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Samwise
Captain Naiobi


Joined: Apr 25, 2006
Posts: 2315
Location: Montpellier, France

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually, on a Mac, Ctrl-based shortcuts use the Cmd key instead. However, Cmd-Tab is already assigned to a Mac OS X shortcut (switch between open applications), which probably explains why it won't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11800
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Samwise wrote:
Usually, on a Mac, Ctrl-based shortcuts use the Cmd key instead. However, Cmd-Tab is already assigned to a Mac OS X shortcut (switch between open applications), which probably explains why it won't work.


To add to Samwise's point, any shortcuts reserved by Mac OS X will never get delivered to NeoOffice. Instead, shortcuts like Command-Tab will be processed directly by Mac OS X and NeoOffice will not receive any key events.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
narf
The Anomaly


Joined: Jan 21, 2007
Posts: 1075

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw a method for setting tab stops within a table in this previous post in Trinity.

Try the following key combination:
cmd-opt-tab

Let us know if that works for you,
--fran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James3359
The Merovingian


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 685
Location: North West England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:06 am    Post subject: Command-opt/alt-tab works Reply with quote

Or, on my keyboard, Command-alt-tab - it works for me. Thanks fran Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagusaurus
Blue Pill


Joined: Oct 28, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Command-alt-tab worked on my keyboard. I thought I tried all those potential combinations but must have missed that one. Thank you. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> New Features Program All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.03 Seconds