Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Questions about NeoOffice for a study thesis
Questions about NeoOffice for a study thesis

NeoOffice Forum Index -> Random Whatnot
View previous topic :: View next topic  
aposchma
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:43 am    Post subject: Questions about NeoOffice for a study thesis

Dear NeoOffice community,

my name is Alexander Poschmann. I am a student at the University of Mannheim in Germany.
Currently I'm writing a study thesis about software engineering.
The topic is: "The Influence of Software Projects‘ Characterisitics on the Choice of Development Methodology"

I'm focussing on Open Source projects, because I think Open Source is one of the most interesting ways of developing software.
I also believe Open Source will become more and more important in the future.

As I want to get some information directly from the project members, I have some questions to you.
I know, it's a long list of questions, but answering some of them will help me a lot.

My questions:
1. How many active contributors are there at the moment?
2. From what countries are the contributors?
3. As there are no customers, how is decided what to implement next and what is important?
4. Does an official project manager exist? If yes, why it's him/her?
5. What are the real jobs of the contributors? How many professionals are there?
6. When was the last version released? When will be the next release? Do you have release deadlines?
7. When and how do you plan what shall be implemented in the next release?
8. Is it possible to add a feature between two releases? Or do you have to wait for the next planning phase?
9. Do you use any developing methodology? For example agile software engineering, waterfall or RUP?
10. If yes, why do you use it? Who introduced this methodology?
11. How do you communicate? Forum, Instant Messenger, Skype, phone, etc.?
12. Do you have regular chat/skype meetings?