Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Download or installation problems? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2017? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - Translation request : NeoOffice Mobile server-side text
Translation request : NeoOffice Mobile server-side text
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Mobile Testing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:08 pm    Post subject: Translation request : NeoOffice Mobile server-side text Reply with quote

Greetings! While we've translated most of the messages in the NeoOffice Mobile client that shows up within the application, a lot of text is still coming from the web server. Right now, that text is only in English, but TimT made a very adaptable system for translating it.

Attached to this message is a text file with the various bits of English on the server side that needs to be translated. The file is in a similar format to what we used for the media browser:

Code:

"English" = "Other Language"


In the attached file, the other language right hand side is empty, but if people can start translating parts of it we can get some more language support on the server as well Smile

It's a lot of text, I know, so am already thankful in advance!

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, also if you are doing translations, please use TextEdit and use "File > Save As" and set the Plain Text Encoding to use UTF-8.

Our infrastructure is using UTF-8 for accented chars, multi-byte languages, etc. and it would be incredibly helpful if we can start from UTF-8 so we don't lose accents and other characters through the forum attachments, text files, and such Smile

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
hi_RAM
Councilperson


Joined: Feb 16, 2006
Posts: 163
Location: 48°51 N 2° 21 E

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did some one translate it to French ?
_________________
Patrick G4 2x867, 2 Go, 10.4.11...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11882
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi_RAM wrote:
Did some one translate it to French ?


Not yet.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hi_RAM
Councilperson


Joined: Feb 16, 2006
Posts: 163
Location: 48°51 N 2° 21 E

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could try but I will have problems with some alerts…
_________________
Patrick G4 2x867, 2 Go, 10.4.11...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hi_RAM
Councilperson


Joined: Feb 16, 2006
Posts: 163
Location: 48°51 N 2° 21 E

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My try…

Some alerts could/should be polished…

SamWise or new eyes should have a look on it…

I don't know how translate : Invalid bucket name…

Eastern eggs are quite fun Wink


Edit 7/4…

Second upload corrected...

I save it as Text unicode UTF-8... when downloaded, accented characters seem strange… √© for é… so added save as MacOs zipped

_________________
Patrick G4 2x867, 2 Go, 10.4.11...


Last edited by hi_RAM on Sat Jul 04, 2009 5:59 am; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11882
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi_RAM wrote:
I don't know how translate : Invalid bucket name…


Hopefully, that error message should never appear so feel free to skip this error message.

What the message means is that the name of the "bucket" (which is Amazon S3's equivalent of a Mac OS X volume) is not valid. In other words, you would only see that error message if Amazon S3 rejects our request to access any of the files that we have uploaded in our NeoOffice Mobile's "bucket".

Hope that makes sense.

BTW, Ed, I, and Tim never put "Easter eggs" in our code. We really think those only add bloat and potential bugs to the software and, more importantly, we would rather spend our time writing useful code and putting pictures of ourselves in our code. Wink

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hi_RAM
Councilperson


Joined: Feb 16, 2006
Posts: 163
Location: 48°51 N 2° 21 E

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Patrick

Many thanks for your explanation.



2 strings are strange for me... Wink

"The ship has sailed."

"Either the url was fat fingered, or we need to fire that intern." = ""

_________________
Patrick G4 2x867, 2 Go, 10.4.11...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11882
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi_RAM wrote:
2 strings are strange for me... Wink

"The ship has sailed."

"Either the url was fat fingered, or we need to fire that intern." = ""


Hmmm. Looks like Tim is trying to make his error messages humorous. I will try to think of better English messages.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mk408
Blue Pill


Joined: Jun 16, 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi_RAM wrote:

2 strings are strange for me... Wink

"The ship has sailed."


I like les moulins ont tourné, assuming you wish to keep some levity, while sacrificing the reference to the NeoOffice logo in favor of idiom.

cf http://forum.wordreference.com/showthread.php?t=1111600
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hi_RAM
Councilperson


Joined: Feb 16, 2006
Posts: 163
Location: 48°51 N 2° 21 E

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That for your post Wink

I choose "Vous avez raté le coche"… same idea of a ship…

_________________
Patrick G4 2x867, 2 Go, 10.4.11...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narf
The Anomaly


Joined: Jan 21, 2007
Posts: 1075

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi_RAM,

Thank you for the French translations. I have added them to NeoOffice Mobile. I am sorry it took so long to get them in place.

Please let me know if you see any errors in the French translations when using NeoOffice Mobile.

--fran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hi_RAM
Councilperson


Joined: Feb 16, 2006
Posts: 163
Location: 48°51 N 2° 21 E

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have a lot of time these days…

I found some display problem, some parts are not translated…

Please find some screen pictures…

_________________
Patrick G4 2x867, 2 Go, 10.4.11...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11882
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi_RAM wrote:
Please find some screen pictures…


While the pictures show that the accents are misencoded, the real thing we need to see is what is the full text in the two "Notice:" lines. Those lines indicate that an error in Tim's code occurred and so anything HTML generated after the error occurred will have problems.

Unfortunately, I cannot reproduce these notice lines so French accents look fine to me. Can you try logging out of NeoOffice Mobile, enter the wrong password for your user, and tell us if the two "Notice:" lines still appear?

Edit by pluby: modified steps in last paragraph

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11882
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot ot add that if the mangled accent characters no longer occurs, let me know and I will then make a list of the phrases that still need translations. Hopefully I can post the list in today or tomorrow.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Mobile Testing All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.03 Seconds