Support
· Forums
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki

Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice

Downloads
· Download NeoOffice

NeoOffice :: View topic - Existing spreadsheet .xls opens in writer NOT calc?
Existing spreadsheet .xls opens in writer NOT calc?

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sinner
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 6:43 am    Post subject: Existing spreadsheet .xls opens in writer NOT calc?

I am trying to open an existing Excel spreadsheet BUT it opens in writer (and obviously displays garbage) not calc. Any suggestuions would be helpful.
I am new to neooffice so excuse me if this is a simple problem.
RoyFocker
Oracle

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:59 am    Post subject:

OH! I think this is not a "simple" problem!
Did you try opening the *.xls file from CALC (not double click on the file but first run CALC and File, Open, etc.?

Another option is to change manually the extension from *.xls into *.ods.

Hoping this can help!
Roy
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:00 am    Post subject:

Make sure that the file has a .xls extension, because the spreadsheet import filters don't have "extended type detection" that helps them determine what a file really is; they're dumb and only kick in when the file has the "proper" extension....

Smokey

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:29 pm    Post subject: Opening Excel files with NeoOffice

I am having the same problem. Changing the file extension hasn't helped. Its opening the file in NeoOffice Writer regardless.

Any other suggestions?
OPENSTEP
The One
The One

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:43 pm    Post subject:

Try changing the extension and also selecting "Microsoft Excel XP/2000/97" from the "Format" popup menu of the open dialog to explicitly tell it which filter you want to use. This filter should allow only ".xls" extension documents to be opened.

ed
MattSh