NeoOffice :: View topic - Size of memory needed
Size of memory needed

NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bbl
Blue Pill

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:34 am    Post subject: Size of memory needed

Hello There
I'm using a PWBook G4 667 Mhz with 512 MO.
I have the impression since I installed the patch 8 that Neooffice is eating more and more memory.
Am I OK with 512 MO ? Question
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Size of memory needed

bbl wrote:
Hello There
I'm using a PWBook G4 667 Mhz with 512 MO.
I have the impression since I installed the patch 8 that Neooffice is eating more and more memory.
Am I OK with 512 MO ? Question

More is always better--these days adding more memory is the most cost-effective way to speed up your Mac--but I have been running for 1+ years with only the stock 512 MB in my PBG4 1.33 GHz with no real issues (within reason--I don't usually run Photoshop and Neo/J at the same time, though Wink) Lots of people recommend having at least 1 GB of RAM, though.

As to whether Neo/J has been taking more memory since Patch 8, I haven't noticed, but I also haven't been paying attention.

Smokey
ovvldc
Captain Naiobi

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject:

I have 640 MB in an 800 Mhz iBook 12".

And I have no problems. I usually have Mozilla Suite, NeoOffice, Acrobat, iTunes and a Finder window around and don't get serious slowdowns.

OTOH, I noticed that NeoOffice hit over 1GB of virtual memory recently. This was after I had it running and used it for 12 hours in total. In these cases you can get a wee bit of slowdown. Which is easily solved by restarting the app.

I should also note that Mozilla has a few leaks which slow the system down a lot more in due course.