Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Download or installation problems? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2017? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - Creating an Aqua toolbar icon set
Creating an Aqua toolbar icon set
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier


Joined: Feb 01, 2004
Posts: 4588

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The one bad "small generic template" icon from my original set that stuck out like a sore thumb has been replaced by Daniel's good replacement one, so from my perspective it looks good. But Daniel and Armando have a better handle on the overall state of Akua....

Smokey

_________________
"[...] whether the duck drinks hot chocolate or coffee is irrelevant." -- ovvldc and sardisson in the NeoWiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note that I am assembling icons for the 2.1 release. Due to our deadlines, Sunday night will be the last opportunity to squeeze in any updates for the main 2.1 release. I'll check back 8PM PST Sunday (after BG) to assemble the release set before the replay.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
djpimley
The Anomaly
(earlier version)


Joined: Jun 11, 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
I've reuploaded the correct images.zip to the same URL. Can you verify that that one works?

It looks correct to me. Just that missing cloud callout... darn it. I think your build process is working fine.

Armando, any chance you could come to my aid and add the cloud callout from my updated elements to the Akua set?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Punto_Mac
Captain


Joined: Jun 24, 2006
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Armando, any chance you could come to my aid and add the cloud callout from my updated elements to the Akua set?


I've replaced my images.zip to the same URL:

http://homepage.mac.com/punto_mac/projects/neo/downloads/Akua_March_Release.dmg

Armando
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djpimley
The Anomaly
(earlier version)


Joined: Jun 11, 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I've grabbed those new sets and integrated them with CVS. I'll check back again around 8 to see if there are any further changes.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier


Joined: Feb 01, 2004
Posts: 4588

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OPENSTEP wrote:
I'll check back 8PM PST Sunday (after BG) to assemble the release set before the replay.

Good to see you have your priorities straight Smile

Smokey

_________________
"[...] whether the duck drinks hot chocolate or coffee is irrelevant." -- ovvldc and sardisson in the NeoWiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11910
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OPENSTEP wrote:
OK I've grabbed those new sets and integrated them with CVS. I'll check back again around 8 to see if there are any further changes.


...and I have uploaded my images.zip that uses Ed's copies in cvs here. Please double-check that everything looks OK in this file.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djpimley
The Anomaly
(earlier version)


Joined: Jun 11, 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Please double-check that everything looks OK in this file.

Looks good to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sardisson wrote:
OPENSTEP wrote:
I'll check back 8PM PST Sunday (after BG) to assemble the release set before the replay.

Good to see you have your priorities straight Smile


Hey, gotta leave that hour inbetween replays...

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
OPENSTEP
The One
The One


Joined: May 25, 2003
Posts: 4752
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

djpimley wrote:
pluby wrote:
Please double-check that everything looks OK in this file.

Looks good to me.


Cool. I'll commence on tagging for our release.

ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Lorinda
Captain Mifune


Joined: Jun 20, 2006
Posts: 2051
Location: Midwest, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really enjoy the new icons, and I appreciate the work that went into them. I have discovered one small issue with the "formatting paintbrush" icon that appears (or can appear) on the formatting toolbar. NeoOffice's help file says that once you have clicked on the paintbrush once (to copy the style) the icon becomes a paint can and you can click on it again to paste the style to another paragraph, etc. The new icon does not switch to a paint can. The backgroud of it, however, does darken.

I don't see this as a big deal; I figured out what was going on pretty quickly. But given Ed's comment in another thread about the icons I figured it was worth mentioning, even if it isn't worth "fixing."

Lorinda
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aussie149
The Merovingian


Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 607
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:31 pm    Post subject: Icon size Reply with quote

I wonder whether it is not time to look at a larger size for the icons in OpenOffice.org/ NeoOffice? As we get bigger screens and go for bigger resolution, the standard icon sizes get relatively smaller. The "small" size is strcitly for novelty value on higher resolution screens. I think the point is made in these shots, of Akua and of the upcoming Tango [which will replace Industrial in a later version of OpenOffice.org - and hence NeoOffice].

Here's Tango





and Akua





Notice how much of the top toolbar space is left vacant. This is on a 20" iMac @ 1680x1050, but even then I have drawn in the right margin of Writer by 25% to square up the screenshot, so it probably looks much like this on a 17" screen. I imagine that icons of as much as 36x36 could comfortably fit on the toolbars of the 2010s machines. I know it's not just a NeoOffice issue, because these things are decided in OpenOffice.org, but I'd be interested to know whether others here are thinking along the same lines.

Peter

PS I know the icons get bigger if you turn down the resolution, but that sort of defeats the whole point of being able to use all that extra real estate for two page views etc etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sardisson
Town Crier
Town Crier


Joined: Feb 01, 2004
Posts: 4588

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless OOo has changed the code in 2.2, icons were getting clipped or poorly scaled down when Armando was using larger icons, iirc.

Smokey

_________________
"[...] whether the duck drinks hot chocolate or coffee is irrelevant." -- ovvldc and sardisson in the NeoWiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aussie149
The Merovingian


Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Posts: 607
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:14 pm    Post subject: Icon size Reply with quote

Hi Smokey
Yes, it's not possible to go bigger than 26x26 currently I think. The issue is, should OpenOffice.org be looking to go up from there, given screen sizes and resolutions have now changed significantly?
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Development All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 22 of 25

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.04 Seconds