Welcome to NeoOffice developer notes and announcements
NeoOffice
Developer notes and announcements
 
 

Download or installation problems? Try these steps
Problems after upgrading to NeoOffice 2022? Try these steps


Support
· NeoOffice Support
· NeoWiki


Announcements
· Twitter @NeoOffice


Downloads
· Download NeoOffice


RSS Feeds
· Announcements Only
· All Posts


  
NeoOffice :: View topic - Data source to spreadsheet
Data source to spreadsheet
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 6:41 am    Post subject: Data source to spreadsheet Reply with quote

In OpenOffice, I can drag the data from a data source into a Calc spreadsheet. I don't seem to be able to do this in NeoOffice/J. I am also unable to get Data>Data Pilot to work. I get an error every time.

Is there a way to move data from a data source to a spreadsheet?

Thanks,
Scott
Back to top
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11932

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you list out the steps that you are doing? I am able to create a table of data from a data source using the Data -> Data Source ->Start menu. Dragging items from one window to a different window will not work because "drag-and-drop" is one of the two OOo features that have not yet been implemented in NeoJ. However, dragging within a window (like dragging field names onto the Layout area in the DataPilot dialog) does work.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Can you list out the steps that you are doing? I am able to create a table of data from a data source using the Data -> Data Source ->Start menu.


I'm happy to. Thank you for helping.

1. I launch NeoOffice/J
- I have data sources set up already. JDBC to MySQL, tables and queries. All are read only and data shows up fine if I select them in the Data Source view.

2. File > New > Spreadsheet to create a new spreadsheet

3. View > Data Sources to show the data sources

4. Data > DataPilot > Start

5. Select "Data source registered in NeoOffice/J" and click OK

6. Select the database, enter password when prompted by dialog

7. Set Type to "Query" and select the query I want from "Data Source" ( I get the same results if I just choose a table from the list.) Click OK.

8. Data Pilot window comes up.

9. Drag some fields onto Columns area. Select " - new sheet - " as Results destination (Results to: ). Click OK

10. Error message: "Error creating the Data Pilot Table."

A new sheet is created, but nothing is copied to the spreadsheet. Is there anywhere else to look for an error explanation?

Thanks again,
Scott
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:38 am    Post subject: follow up Reply with quote

After I posted, I tried connecting to a MySQL DB on my own computer, rather than on the server. It works okay, though it's formatting ints and doubles as dates for some reason...

But that's okay - it got the data. That's the important part. Any clue what to look for as far as important differences between my local MySQL and the server MySQL. I do have write/full access to the local DB, but not to the server DBs. Could that make a difference?

Scott
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:55 am    Post subject: More experiments Reply with quote

More experiments, more frustration.

I can't drag things into the Columns area and not expect an error or a crash.

I can, however, drag fields into the Rows area and they come out as columns (?!). Good. There are some horrible formatting problems and a lot of repeated data is inconveniently blanked out, but it looks like it's mostly there. Except that I can only get 8 fields into the Rows area. No more.

I'm sorry if I sound short, but I'm really frustrated right now. Is there no way to simply move data from a data source into a spreadsheet?
Back to top
pluby
The Architect
The Architect


Joined: Jun 16, 2003
Posts: 11932

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, NeoJ is tested by volunteers and, as a result, the database connectivity is one of the least-tested features of NeoJ (hence the reason I put the "...NeoOffice/J is intended for software engineers and is not yet complete enough for regular users." disclaimer on the NeoJ website). Also, the OpenOffice.org 1.0.3 database connectivity code (which NeoJ uses without modification) was known to have lots of bugs. So, I am not surprised that there are problems in this area.

I suspect that you have enountered a real bug. One question that I have is that you say it works in OpenOffice.org. Which OpenOffice.org are you talking about, 1.0.3 or 1.1? If it works in OOo 1.0.3, then that tells me the bug is located in my NeoJ custom code but if you are using OOo 1.1, then a fix may not be feasible until I get the spare time to move NeoJ to the OOo 1.1 codebase.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluby wrote:
Unfortunately, NeoJ is tested by volunteers and, as a result, the database connectivity is one of the least-tested features of NeoJ (hence the reason I put the "...NeoOffice/J is intended for software engineers and is not yet complete enough for regular users." disclaimer on the NeoJ website). Also, the OpenOffice.org 1.0.3 database connectivity code (which NeoJ uses without modification) was known to have lots of bugs. So, I am not surprised that there are problems in this area.


Oh, I understand. I think you all have done a wonderful thing. NeoOffice is wonderful, and a much more integrated experience than OO. I certainly don't mean to disparage your work - I wish I could do what you are doing.

My frustration comes from trying to help someone else who would rather be using Word or would rather I spent the time to write a web app to run every query they come up with for them. I got him to use OO, and am trying to switch him to NeoOffice/J because of his complaints about OO. And it's not working. I'm frustrated with the situation, which is mostly my own fault, not with arcane, infrequently used capabilities of software that was given to the world as a gift Smile

I (and the guy I'm 'helping') was able to drag and drop from OO data sources to a spreadsheet. We never tried the DataPilot in OO. We attempted it in NeoOffice only after realizing that the dragging wasn't available yet. It seemed like the drag and drop method would be a short cut for copying and pasting or something, and not the only way to do it. It seems like the DataPilot is really meant to do something else (whatever a Pivot Table is in Excel).

It looks like I'll need to write something for him to dump queries into csv or tab-delimited text files. It's not hard, I just really wanted to give him a tool do it himself.

Thanks again,
Scott
Back to top
Max_Barel
Oracle


Joined: May 31, 2003
Posts: 219
Location: French Alps

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:36 am    Post subject: Did you see the "text field bug" Reply with quote

I was abroad for more of two weeks so I jump into this thread quite late...

To the original poster (Scott?)

I'd like to know if you encounter the bug I reported in this thread (http://trinity.neooffice.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=333&highlight=mysql), while connecting to your MySQL server ?

Shortly, this bug affect text fields, which are not displayed correctly, whith every version of OOo I tested (X11 or Neo/J, Mac or Linux).

If you don't, Id like to know which JDBC driver you used, which OOo version and what where your settings.

Thank you.

Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:10 am    Post subject: Re: Did you see the "text field bug" Reply with quote

[quote="Max_Barel"]To the original poster (Scott?)

I'd like to know if you encounter the bug I reported in this thread (http://trinity.neooffice.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=333&highlight=mysql), while connecting to your MySQL server ?[/quote]

Yep, I'm the same Scott from that thread. Still no luck on that issue. Just to triple-check, though, I can read VARCHAR fields without issue, but TEXT fields are garbled. I've tried all the JDBC drivers listed on the MySQL site with no luck. The same problem with all versions except the latest dev release which had connection problems. I think we've both tried all possible charsets.

Sorry,
Scott
Back to top
Max_Barel
Oracle


Joined: May 31, 2003
Posts: 219
Location: French Alps

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:18 pm    Post subject: Too bad! Reply with quote

Too bad!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeoOffice Forum Index -> NeoOffice Releases All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Planamesa Inc.
NeoOffice is a registered trademark of Planamesa Inc. and may not be used without permission.
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.03 Seconds